What is a J-bird and why is it naked?

When I think of writing I think of nakedness.  When I think of nakedness I think of anxiety.   Treatment for anxiety often involves exposure…the irony.  So begins my treatment.  It’s time for me to be “Naked as a j-bird.”  A Wikipedia discussion answer for what the phrase “naked as a j-bird” may mean mentions the possibility that it may derive its origins as coming from the in-processing of prisoners (j-birds aka jail birds).   Prisoners were stripped down completely naked, showered, and given their cell assignments all in assembly-line fashion.  I’m growing aware that it is in our movement toward nakedness that we are afforded the opportunity to be “awakened,” as Carl Jung mentions,  cleansed, transformed, and truly able to meet with and speak to the human condition.   Let’s get naked.

~ by jroz1980 on April 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “What is a J-bird and why is it naked?”

  1. I’m in.

  2. This is thought provoking. Nakedness, anxiety, exposure. This concept of nakedness brings to my mind a scripture that says: “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account (Heb 4:12-13).” There it is: laid bare (naked). Yes, exposure. And, the anxiety of facing that exposure. I am thankful that with God, when I “get naked”, there is cleansing, forgiveness and newness of life. Though difficult at times, and for me anxiety producing, the refreshing and transformation that follows that exposure is well worth it. And so, I can agree: let’s get naked.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

